International Competition for Choreographers Hanover 2019

The Ballet Society Hanover organize the International Competition for Choreographers Hanover for the 33. time. Within the last years the competition estimated as an important event in the national and international dance scene

These are the competition guidelines: All participants, choreographers and dancers, ought to have professional training. Choreographers must be 35 or younger. The competition is open to any kind of style. Evaluation is based exclusively on imaginative use of space and time, the realisation of an idea, and its transfer onto the performers. The duration of the performance, have to be between 5 and 12 minutes. A solo-ballet may not be interpreted by the choreographer him/herself. The applicant is free in his choice of subject and music.  The choreographic work can be send as an Internet link ( youtube, vimeo, etc.)  A DVD is also accepted.
A prejury will select a maximum of 20 the submitted works, which will enter the contest.

Jury 2019: Marguerite Donlon, Independent Choreographer ans Artistic Direczor DCC / Katrin Hall, Director Göteborgs Operans Danskompani / Nanine Linning, Dance Company Nanine Linning and Artistic Director of choreography33 / Jörg Mannes, Director Ballett Staatsoper Hannover / Johannes Öhman, Director Staatsballett Berlin / Richard Wherlock, Director Ballett Basel

Jury Production Awards 2019: Stephen Delattre, Director Delattre Dance Company / Kevin Haigen, Artistic Director Bundesjugendballett / Garry Stewart, Director Australian Dance Theatre / Martin Stiefermann, International Produktionszentrum Schloss Bröllin e.V / Richard Wherlock, Director Ballett Basel / Ed Wubbe, Director Scapino Ballett Rotterdam

Prejury 2017: Dirk Elwert, Fachvermittler Tanz der ZAV Künstlervermittlung / Nanine Linning, Dance Company Nanine Linning / Gregor Zöllig, Director Ballet Staatstheater Braunschweig

Prizes: 1. prize: 6.000 EUR; 2. prize: 3.000  EUR; 3. prize: 2.000 EUR, Critic´s prize: 1.500 EUR; Audience prize: 1.000 EUR

Production Awards

NEW: Ballett Theater Basel Award The winner will receive the opportunity to present the choreography shown in the competition as part of the evening “Dance Lab +” in June 2020 with our dancers of Ballett Theater Basel.

NEW: Residenz International Production Centre Schloss Bröllin e.V The International Production Centre Schloss Bröllin e.V. – northeast of Berlin – offers one of the participants a three-week residence with the possibility of working on a new production with their own dancers. Accommodation, food and studio will be provided – a mentor stands accompanying. The selection will be made by Martin Stiefermann, Artistic Director of the Residence Programme and movin´ bröllin.

Delattre Dance Company Award: The winner will receive the opportunity to present the choreography shown in the competition in a production of the Delattre Dance Company with the dancers of DDC .

Tanja Liedtke Scholarship: Since 2016 the Tanja Liedtke Foundation donated a three week’s scholarship at the Australian Dance Theatre in Adelaide, Australia. This Prize will be awarded by Garry Stewart, Director of The Australian Dance Theatre. The scholarship includes travel costs, accomodation, and ADT tuition.

Scapino Production Award: Since 2005 Ed Wubbe, the artistic director of the competition, awards the Scapino production award. The award includes the development of an unique choreography with dancers from Scapino Ballet and the presentation in the series TWOOLS.

Bundesjugendballett Production Award: The Bundesjugendballett was founded by John Neumeier in  2011. Since 2012 the Bundesjugendballett  also sponsors a production award. Part of the award is the development of a choreography with the Bundesjugendballett.

Please find the actual terms of conditions plus application forms on the internet at Applications please by April 17, 2019.

More articles